Changes to Union County Congressional, Municipal Wards, and District Maps – Union County, New Jersey

Redistricting based on the results of the 2020 census affects several county municipalities.

Union County, NJ – The Union County Board of Elections is advising residents that there have been numerous changes in Union County as a result of the 2020 Census results. The Congressional Redistricting Committee of New Jersey approved the new congressional map. The changes impact several towns in Union County.

The new congressional assignments represent the congressional districts in which Union County cities will vote in 2022. Candidates elected in this year’s general election will represent the newly formed district when they are sworn in, in 2023. Until Whether the new congress is sworn in in 2023, residents will continue to be represented under the current allocations of congressional districts.

“The Congressional row has realigned many towns in Union County, which will affect who will appear on voters’ ballots and who will represent them in Congress beginning in January 2023,” said Nicole DiRado, council administrator. Union County elections. “Affected voters should be aware of this change and seek information about the candidates so they are not surprised by the ballot when they vote in June.”

According to the new map, cities in Union County will vote in the following congressional districts in the upcoming 2022 election:

Congressional District 7: Berkeley Heights, Clark, Fanwood, Linden Split Wards (Wards 2, 6 & 7 and 3-2 & 3-3), Mountainside, New Providence, Rahway, Scotch Plains, Springfield, Summit, Westfield and Winfield

Congressional District 8: Elizabeth

Congressional District 10: Cranford, Garwood, Hillside, Kenilworth, Linden Split Wards (Wards 1, 4, 5, 8, 9 10 and 3-1 and 3-4), Roselle, Roselle Park and Union

Congressional District 12: Plainfield

Following the congressional redistricting, ward commissions from each of the 10 cities that have wards met to review their respective ward lines. The Congressional Redistricting Committee and Ward Committees ensure that the population is fairly distributed among their respective districts. Hillside, Summit and Westfield maps have not changed as a result of the 2020 census data.

Neighborhood lines were redrawn in Clark, Elizabeth, Linden, Plainfield, Rahway, Roselle and Roselle Park. Next, the Union County Board of Election Commissioners met to adopt new electoral district maps to ensure that voters are assigned to an electoral district, after redrawing the ward line.

All affected voters will receive communication from the Union County Board of Elections in May, prior to Election Day, alerting them to their new congressional district, ward and electoral district and polling place, if any. Voters will also find this information on their sample ballot.

Voters can visit the Union County Board of Elections website ( or call 908-527-4123 for more information.

Links to additional resources: For more information and updates on all Union County services during the COVID-19 outbreak, including free vaccination, free testing, emergency food distribution, and other services support, visit General information about COVID-19 is available from the New Jersey Department of Health at

# #

For all Union County programs and services, visit, call the public information line at 877-424-1234, email [email protected], or use the online contact form .

Connect with Union County on social media.

Comments are closed.