District plans proposed for consideration


With the redistribution process underway in El Dorado County, the maps under consideration for the Oversight Council districts are now available to the public.

The surveyor’s office created four maps, each of which meets the requirements of equal population distribution, geographic contiguity, integrity of local communities, and consideration of natural and man-made barriers and compactness.

These maps can be viewed on the County Redistricting website at edcgov.us/Government/Elections/Pages/County-of-El-Dorado-Redistricting.aspx under “Draft Maps”.

The public can also access and download census data and files to create their own maps for review.

All maps and map revisions must be submitted to the redistribution team prior to a public meeting on October 14 where the maps will be provided to the public.

Four options

Alternative 1: Alternative in town

This alternative was achieved by allocating census blocks starting at the western end of the county and moving east with city limits as the priority. It also uses rural centers and publicly-drawn communities of interest as secondary considerations. This alternative maintains the Town of Placerville in District 3 and the Town of South Lake Tahoe in District 5, and it takes into account the city limit of El Dorado Hills proposed from a 2005 proposal. It maintains also the El Dorado Hills business park in a single neighborhood, when it was once divided into two neighborhoods. Finally, it keeps the Tahoe Basin and much of the El Dorado National Forest together.

Alternative 2: District-based Community Service Alternative

This alternative was achieved by working along the Highway 50 corridor from west to east of the county considering first the community service districts and then the city limits and rural centers. Although it is not possible to prevent CSDs like El Dorado Hills and Cameron Park from being partially divided due to the high population density in these areas, the majority of CSD boundaries have been retained within of a district.

Alternative 3: Alternative based on community of interest

For this alternative, publicly-drawn communities of interest were the primary consideration for district boundaries. A total of four COIs were submitted for public review. These include communities in the areas of Shingle Springs, Cameron Park, Rescue and Pollock Pines. Specific plans, rural centers and towns have also been considered in an attempt to prevent heavily populated areas and neighborhoods from being divided into separate districts.

Alternative 4: Alternative based on community region

In this alternative, community regions, as defined in the general county plan, were the primary consideration for district boundaries. In addition, rural centers, community service districts, Caldor fire victims, towns and the proposed city limit of El Dorado Hills were included as secondary considerations. This alternative only considers the victims of the Caldor fire by placing the majority of the affected population in a southern district that stretches from the western edge in the east to the Tahoe Basin. Finally, this alternative combines several of the main historic districts such as Placerville, Coloma and Georgetown in a common district.


Comments are closed.