New redistribution maps for review

With the redistribution process underway in El Dorado County, maps under consideration for new surveillance districts are now publicly available.

The surveyor’s office created four maps, each of which meets the requirements of equal population distribution, geographic contiguity, integrity of local communities, and consideration of natural and man-made barriers and compactness.

These maps can be viewed on the County Redistribution website at under “Draft cards”.

The public can also access and download census data and files to create their own maps for review.

All maps and map revisions must be submitted to the redistribution team prior to a public meeting on October 14 where the maps will be provided to the public.

Four options

Alternative 1: Alternative in town

This alternative was derived by allocating census blocks starting at the western end of the county and moving east with city limits as the priority. It also uses rural centers and publicly-drawn communities of interest as secondary considerations. This alternative maintains the town of Placerville in District 3 and the town of South Lake Tahoe in District 5, and it takes into account the El Dorado Hills town limit proposed from a 2005 proposal. also the El Dorado Hills business park within a single district, whereas it was formerly divided into two districts. Finally, it keeps the Tahoe Basin and much of the Eldorado National Forest together.

Alternative 2: District-based Community Service Alternative

This alternative was achieved by working along the Highway 50 corridor from west to east of the county considering first the community service districts and then the city limits and rural centers. Although it is not possible to prevent CSDs such as El Dorado Hills and Cameron Park from being partially divided due to the high population density in these areas, the majority of CSD boundaries have been retained in a single district.

Alternative 3: Alternative based on community of interest

For this alternative, publicly-drawn communities of interest were the primary consideration for district boundaries. A total of four COIs were submitted for public review. These include communities in the areas of Shingle Springs, Cameron Park, Rescue and Pollock Pines. Specific plans, rural centers and towns have also been considered in an attempt to prevent heavily populated areas and neighborhoods from being divided into separate districts.

Alternative 4: Alternative based on community region

In this alternative, community regions, as defined in the general county plan, were the primary consideration for district boundaries. In addition, rural centers, community service districts, Caldor fire victims, towns and the proposed city limit of El Dorado Hills were included as secondary considerations. This alternative only considers the victims of the Caldor fire by placing the majority of the affected population in a southern district that stretches from the western edge in the east to the Tahoe Basin. Finally, this alternative combines several of the main historic districts such as Placerville, Coloma and Georgetown in a common district.

Source link

Comments are closed.