Upland City Council chooses near status quo for new district maps – Daily Bulletin

Upland City Council approved new electoral districts on Monday, February 14, which change the boundaries of the council’s four districts, but do not change the election of the mayor, who is chosen in a citywide competition. town.

In a unanimous vote and without too much discussion, the city council considered 13 district maps submitted by the public and chose one they had previously preferred after giving their opinion on how the boundaries should be drawn. New mapping is done every 10 years and this year reflects an increase in the city’s population of 5,308 to 79,369 following the 2020 census.

On Monday, the council threw out cards drawn by residents that would have eliminated the mayor at large to create five equal-vote constituencies – one for each member – meaning the mayor’s spot would have been rotated between the five. Additionally, a plan for seven council members was rejected.

The new maps were approved on first reading. Second reading and final approval are expected Feb. 28, said Keri Johnson, city clerk.

Under existing boundaries, four council members are elected from four separate electoral districts: Shannan Maust, District 1; Janice Elliott, District 2; Carlos Garcia, District 3 and Rudy Zuniga, District 4. The fifth member, Mayor Bill Velto, was elected in November 2020 at large. Garcia and Maust were elected in their constituencies the same year.

The new council districts add and subtract the population of each of the four districts, but the overall electoral system remains the same and may not be noticeable to voters until Election Day. In November 2022, voters in Districts 2, 3 and 4 will choose council members in the newly drawn districts. District 1 and the election for Mayor and Treasurer will be on the ballot in November 2024.

National Demographics Corp. consultant Jeff Simonetti said he included the council’s input in the map. Maust had asked for a more equal distribution of population in each of the four districts.

There was also talk of maintaining “majority-minority” precincts for Hispanic voters, most strongly reflected in precincts 3 and 4 south of the city.

Some of the demographic and demographic changes are as follows:

• District 1 will add 1,140 people, with a Hispanic resident population at 32.62%, less than 33.1% below the current limit. It juts east of San Antonio Avenue to include the neighborhoods between 24th and 21st streets.

• District 2 adds 796 people, with a significant increase in Hispanic residents at 34.38%, up about 2%. It now runs under 14th Street to Foothill Boulevard and east to Euclid Avenue.

The majority of white residents live in the two northern districts, with 47% in District 1 and 45% in District 2. The white population in the northern part of the city is double that of the southern half, in the south from Foothill Blvd.

• District 3 will lose 827 people (to District 4) but the percentage of Hispanics remains about the same at about 55%. The neighborhood no longer goes east beyond San Antonio Avenue.

• District 4 will lose 1,109 people (mostly to District 2), but the percentage of Hispanics remains at 57%, the highest of any district.

Districts 3 and 4 continue to be “majority-minority” districts and are currently represented by Hispanic council members.

Most of the city’s black residents—about 10.4%—live in District 3 in the southwestern part of the city, and 7.2% live in the adjacent District 4 in the southeastern part. The city does not currently have a black council member.

Asian American residents primarily live in District 1, at 12% of the city’s population, and District 2, at 13%. The city does not currently have an Asian American council member.

Comments are closed.